11.6 C

The Prince of Asturias Award goes to Haruki Murakami



Meryl Streep is awarded in the art category

This year’s Prince of Asturias Award in the literature category, which is considered one of the most important Spanish literary awards, goes to the international literary star, the Japanese writer Haruki Murakami.

The Foundation, which awards the Princess of Asturias Award, pointed out in its justification “the uniqueness of his literature, its universal dimension and ability to reconcile Japanese tradition and the legacy of Western culture in an ambitious and innovative narrative”.

The Princess of Asturias Prize for Literature, worth €50,000, is one of eight prizes for arts, sports and scientific research awarded annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

The absurdity and loneliness of modern manThe oeuvre of the 74-year-old Murakami includes hits such as Norwegian forest and Kafka on the shore. He is known for his stories, in which he intertwines the loneliness of modern life with absurd situations. His works can be read in approximately 50 languages, including Slovenian.

A number of his works are available in Slovenian translation, including the novels The Chronicle of a Fancier Bird, Norwegian forest, Kafka on the shore, Love my sputnik and the trilogy 1Q84work What I’m talking about when I talk about runninga collection of short prose The elephant disappears and also a novel The killing of the commander. Last year, a collection of short stories All God’s Children Dance was also published in Slovenian. In April of this year, the most famous living Japanese writer published a new novel The City and Its Uncertain Walls, for which Japanese readers waited outside the bookstore in the middle of the night. He has been mentioned as a candidate for the Nobel Prize in Literature for several years.

Award also for Meryl StreepThe Princess of Asturias Prizes have been awarded since 1981. So far, they have been awarded to a Mexican poet and writer, a Nobel laureate Octavio Paz(1993), Italian writer and philosopher Umberto Eco (2000), American musician, also a Nobel laureate Bob Dylan (2007), Canadian singer, poet and writer Leonard Cohen (2011) and Serbian artist Marina Abramović (2021). This year, the name of an American actress was announced as the first recipient Meryl Streepwhich received the award in the art category.

When Murakami's books are published, queues of readers line up in front of bookstores even before they open, waiting to be among the first to get their hands on a copy of the new work.  Photo: EPA

Along with the money, there is also a replica of Miró’s statueIn addition to 50,000 euros, each winner receives a replica of the statue of the Catalan painter and sculptor Joan Miró. The awards will be presented by King Felipe VI of Spain in Oviedo at the end of October. and Crown Princess Leonor of Asturias.

Source: Rtvslo

Subscribe to our magazine


━ more like this

What does literature sound like? Thoughtful and curious.

A selection of literary radio broadcasts between 28 May and 4 June 2023 "And so I will go to the resting place, where memory...

World champion 16 years ago, on Saturday she unexpectedly took part in the mountain slope

Mitja Mežnar pushed a former colleague in ski jumping down a steep slopeWhen reliving the events of Saturday's decisive stage at the Giro on...

China’s first domestically produced passenger plane completed its christening flight

More than 130 passengers received red airline tickets and were treated to a sumptuous mealChina produced the first domestically produced passenger plane. Although...

The Kristina Ray Trio will fill the May evening with jazz

This Monday evening at the Jazz Club Gajo, which will resonate in Kavarna Trafika, the Kristina Ray Trio, founded by a Slovenian musician living...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here