9.9 C

Slovenian volleyball players have two paths to the Olympic ticket



At the end of the month, the qualifying tournament in Japan

The Slovenian men’s volleyball team won bronze at the European Championship and qualified for the final tournament of the League of Nations, but the main goal of the season is yet to come – the qualifying tournament for the Olympic Games.

In the Slovenian camp, before the stormy summer, they put a ticket to Paris 2024 at the top of their wish list. There are two seasonal stations behind the volleyball players, and a third before them. An appearance at the Olympic Games would be the crown of this generation, which has been exciting for many years. Slovenian volleyball players have not yet competed at the Olympic Games.

12 national teams will participate in the Olympic Games in Paris. For now, only the French are guaranteed a place as hosts.

We will get six participants through three qualifying tournaments, which will take place from September 30 to October 8. Slovenia will compete in Group B in Japan. In addition to the Japanese, the USA, Serbia, Finland, Turkey, Egypt and Tunisia will also play in Tokyo. The first two places lead to the Olympic Games.

The remaining five participants will be determined by the world volleyball ranking after the regular season of the League of Nations in 2024. The first selection criterion will be geographical. First of all, national teams whose continents do not yet have a representative will get a place. Presumably these will be Africa and Oceania.

When the continental quota is filled, the second criterion will be ranking in the world rankings. It is expected that after the allocation of places to Africa and Oceania, three more places will be available. Here, the Slovenians are in an excellent position, as on August 19 they were in eighth place behind Poland, the USA, Italy, Brazil, Japan, France and Argentina. Most of these national teams, given their quality this season, will have secured their place in Paris quickly through the qualifying tournaments.


Group A (Brazil): Brazil, Italy, Iran, Cuba, Ukraine, Germany, Czech Republic, Qatar.

Group B (Japan): Japan, USA, Slovenia, Serbia, Turkey, Tunisia, Egypt, Finland.

Group C (China): China, Poland, Argentina, Netherlands, Canada, Mexico, Belgium, Bulgaria.

Two national teams from each group travel to the Olympic Games.

Source: Rtvslo

Subscribe to our magazine


━ more like this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here