-5.2 C

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to human rights defenders from Ukraine, Russia and Belarus



of Nobel Peace Prize delivered this friday Human rights activists from Ukraine, Russia and Belarus .

Specifically, when one person and two organizations were involved, Committee announcement: Monument to Ares Biaryatsky in Belarus and the Russian Organization and the Ukrainian Center for Civil Liberties (Civil Liberty Center).

The Nobel Committee, based in Oslo, Norway, announced Friday the foregoing about the right to “criticize power” and “condemn crimes against humanity.”

With this recognition, the organization said it would “honor three outstanding defenders of human rights, democracy and peaceful coexistence in neighboring countries: Belarus, Russia and Ukraine.”

Nobel Peace Prize Ares Biaryatsky Memorial and Center for Civil Liberties

According to the commission, Bialyatsky was “one of the founders of the pro-democracy movement that emerged in Belarus in the mid-1980s.”

“He has dedicated his life to promoting democracy and peaceful development in his home country,” they added.

Byaliatsky created Viasna (Spring) “This is still going on today, following a constitutional amendment that gave the president authoritarian powers. He was detained without trial.” remembered the chairman of the committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, when announcing the shared award.

Regarding Russian NGOs memorial the commission recalled that it had collected and verified information on abuses and war crimes committed against the population by Russian and pro-Russian forces.

“In 2009, Natalia Estemirova, head of the Chechen memorial branch, was killed for this work.” .

The Memorial is based on the idea that confronting past crimes is essential to preventing new ones.

The organization is also at the forefront of efforts to combat militarism and promote a government based on human rights and the rule of law, the organization explained.

The memorial was created in 1987 by former Soviet Union human rights activists who wanted to ensure that the victims of repression by the communist regime were never forgotten.

about civil liberties center was established with the aim of promoting human rights and democracy in Ukraine.

“He took a position to strengthen Ukrainian civil society and put pressure on the authorities to turn Ukraine into a fully democratic state,” the commission said.

The Ukrainian center said ” An important source for documenting Russian war crimes and play a “pioneering role” in pursuing guilty accountability. “

“With them In their relentless efforts to uphold humanist values, anti-militarism and the rule of law, this year’s laureates have revived and honored their vision of peace and brotherhood. It is a vision that is much needed in today’s world, among the countries of Alfred Nobel,” they concluded.

President Rice-Andersen calls for Bialjatsky’s release

At a press conference following the announcement of the Nobel Peace Prize, Laisse Andersen emphasized the “importance” of the laureates for “promoting values ​​other than war and aggression” –

All are in the midst of a war in Europe “with global consequences”.

Of course, he admitted that there is a war going on every year where the Nobel Committee has to drop the prize.

Reiss-Andersen also sent a message regarding Ales Baliatski to the Belarusian government, calling for his immediate release.

“We urge the Belarusian authorities to release Ares Bialiatsky. Let’s hope it happens and he can come to Oslo. But with thousands of political prisoners in Belarus, my wishes are unfortunately not realistic,” he said.

The chairman of the Nobel Peace Committee was particularly “concerned” about Biaryacki, but said he hoped the award would “strengthen” her morale.

“This award is not addressed to President Putin[Vladimir]nor is it because of his birthday or any other reason. But your government and the government of Belarus represent an authoritarian regime that suppresses human rights,” Reiss-Andersen said when asked about coinciding with today’s anniversary of the Russian president. Told.

The Nobel Peace Prize, the fifth ever announced after medicine, physics, chemistry and literature, will award two journalists in 2021: Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia. Follow what is awarded.

Source: Biobiochile

Subscribe to our magazine


━ more like this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here